featured image

Our Preparatory School’s Staff List | The Banda

Select category below


The Board of Directors and its Chairman Mr D.G.M. Hutchison may be contacted in writing at the following address: c/o The Banda School, P.O. Box 24722, Nairobi 00502, Kenya.
An Advisory Board currently includes a current parent, a former Headmaster of The Banda, a former Chairman of IAPS and an existing Headmistress from UK.

School Management

Chairman of The Board: Mr. D. G. M. Hutchison

Headmistress: Mrs. A. Francombe B.Ed. Hons. (Exeter)

Director of Communication & Development; Learning Support: Mrs. K. Morey NPQH, M.A. (Middlesex) Dip SPLD (Dyslexia)

Chief Operations Officer: Mr. M. Fernandes

Director of ICT: Mr. I. Mbuthia M.Sc. IT (Strathmore), AIMIS, CCNA, CEH

Assistant Director of Compliance: Ms. J. Nyoike

Senior Leadership Team

Headmistress: Mrs. A. Francombe B.Ed. Hons. (Exeter)

Deputy Head and Director Pastoral : Mrs. L. Haywood B.A. Hons. (Newcastle), PGCE (Kingston); English, Drama

Director Teaching and Learning: Mr. R. Wilson B.Sc. (Bristol), M.A., QTS, Head of History

Director Co-Curricular: Mr. C. Daubney B.Sc Hons. (De Mont Fort), PGCE (Canterbury); Head of Geography

Head of Lower School: Mrs A. Gardiner B.Ed. (Cambridge)

Head of Pegasus Early Years: Mrs. J. Dowd B.Sc. Hons. (Manchester), PGCE (Sunderland)


Upper School

Mrs. O. Abbonizio B. Sc. (Loughborough), PGCE (Buckingham); *Girls' Games 

Mr. B. Adema B.Com MIS (Daystar); Boys' Games

Mr. S. Ammora B.A. Hons., QTS, Eng & Drama; *Drama, English

Miss L. Aura M.A. (Nairobi), B.Com (Strathmore); Games, Physical Education

Mr. J. Chambuni B.A. (Kenyatta) Art and Design Adv. Dip (KTTC); Technician Creative Arts & TA

Mr. N. Crossley B.A. Hons (Leeds); *Boys' Games, Physical Education

Mr. O. Dennis B.Sc. Sp. Mgmt (Bond); Boys’ Games, Physical Education

Miss S. Hockey B.A. Hons. Geography (Exeter), PGCE (Sunderland); *Key Stage 2, Mathematics, Geography

Mrs. S. Ireri B.A. Hons (London), iPGCE (Nottingham)English, Girls’ Games

Miss S. Latinovic PE University Degree, Physio & Swimming Degree; Swimming Coach

Mrs. K. Lewis B.Sc Science and ICT with QTS; *Science

Ms. P. McDougall Cert. Ed., French & Physical Ed., (London)French

Mr. B. Macharia B.Sc. Hons. Computer Studies, (Sunderland) IMIS Dip, PGCEi (Nottingham); *Computing, Religious Studies, PSHEE & Pastoral Leader Years 5 & 6

Mr. S. Masai Dip. Music (Kenyatta); Studio Technician Music

Ms. E. Muturi Dip. Ed. French DDiFOS (French Chamber of Commerce); French

Mrs. M. Mwaura ICT Cert.; Computing 

Mr. J. Ngare B. Ed. Hons. (Kenyatta) MMUS (Kenyatta); *Music

Mr. P. Nthiga B. Ed. Hons (Kenyatta); Physical Education

Mr. O. Ochanda M. Sc. (Nairobi), B.Ed. (MMUST); Mathematics 

Mr. C. Roberts B. Sc. (Hartpury), PGCE (Chichester); Sports Coach, Physical Education & Games

Mrs. J. Shihemi B.Ed. Hons. (Kenyatta), B.A. / M.A. (Rouen, France); French, *Kiswahili

Mrs. K. Sweetnam B. Sc. Hons. (University of Liverpool), PGCE(London); *PSHEE, Science & English

Mr. W. Swift B. A. Hons (London), M.A., PGCE (History); History, English, Math

Miss A. Walmesley M.A. History (Edinburgh), PGCE; *English, Art 

Mr. P. Walsh B.A. (Double Maths) Dip. Ed (Cambridge); *Mathematics

Miss E. Withill B.A. Hons (Durham), PGCE (Durham), Music; Co-ordinator Performing Arts, Music, Drama

Miss N. Yates B.A. (Middlesex), PGCE (University of West England); *Art & Design & Technology

* denotes Head of Department/Co-ordinator

Lower School

Year 4: Miss L. Bewers B.A. (Wales), PGCE(Birmingham)

Year 4: Miss T. Sheehy B.A. (Ireland), PGCE (Ireland)

Year 4: Mrs. L. Weke-Kyalo B.Ed. (Nairobi), M.A., Cert. Pri. Ed. (Nairobi) 

Year 3: Miss. K. Bennett Dip. in Teaching & Learning (Cambridge) & Dip. SEN

Year 3 : Miss S. Illingworth B.Sc. Hons. Geography and Anthropology, PGCE (Cumbria)

Year 3: Miss E. Ng'ang'a B.Ed. Second Class (Upper Division)

Year 2 & Key Stage 1 Leader: Miss L. Cuthbert B.Sc. Hons. (Edinburgh), PGCE (London)

Year 2: Mrs. S. Muigai B.A. Hons. Ed. Studies & Child Development (Greenwich)

Year 2: Mrs. J. Ogamba Dip. Ed (KHA)

Year 1: Ms. A. Daykin Montessori Diploma (London), Dip. Dyslexia Action

Year 1: Mrs. S. Haq E.C.I. Dip

Year 1: Ms. O. O'Donoghue B.Sc. Hons., Psychology PGCE (Nottingham Trent) 

Pegasus Early Years

Reception & Head of Pegasus Early Years: Mrs. J. Dowd B.Sc. Hons. (Manchester), PGCE (Sunderland)

Reception: Mrs. T. McVey P.G. Dip. (London), PCGE (England) B.Sc Hons. (Leicester)

Reception: Miss E. Gatumuta KHA Dip. Ed

Nursery 2: Miss B. Ochieng KHA Diploma

Nursery 2: Miss. N. Maina KHA Diploma

Nursery 1: Miss K. Millar Montessori Diploma (Bournemouth)

Nursery 1: Miss C. Mwangi KHA Dip. Ed

Learning Support

Mrs. C. Viljoen Dip. SpLD Dyslexia (Hornsby)*

Miss. M. Were B.Ed. Special Education, Dip. Clinical Psychology (Kenyatta University) 

Miss T. Chaggar Montessori Diploma, KHA Diploma in SEN

Mrs. M. Destro Dip. Dyslexia

Mr. V. Kefa B. Ed. (Arts) (Kenyatta University)

Miss. M. Anna B.Ed (Arts) (Kenyatta University) 

Classroom Assistants

M. Kigame (PEY)

P. Mwangi (PEY)

G. Mwachia (PEY)

A. Kimani (PEY)

P. Gitau (PEY)

C. Kabui - (PEY) 

M. Luyai (Lower School)

L. Wangui (Lower School)

M. Nzioka (Lower School)

R. Njau (Lower School) 

M. Githinji (Teaching Assistant)

L. Allen (Teaching Assistant) 

Administration Staff

Chief Operating Officer: Mr. M. Fernandes

Assistant Director Compliance: Ms. J. Nyoike

Head's PA and Registrar, Communications Manager : Ms. S. Greenwood

Accountant: Mrs. J. Kamau

School Nurse: Mrs. D. Wakapa

Catering Manageress: Mrs. M. Behal

ICT Infrastructure Manager: Mr. R. Musau

Network Administrator: Mr. S. Olwal

Head of Security: Mr. W. Juma

Librarian: Mrs. C. Macharia

Librarian: Ms. J. Waithaka

Human Resource Manager: Mrs. M. Kinyua

Marketing & Admissions Co-ordinator: Ms. D. Murungu

Finance Manager: Mr. G. Maina